What Are The Primary Types Of Legal Evidence?

What Are The Primary Types Of Legal Evidence?

In law, rules of evidence govern the types of evidence that are admissible in a legal proceeding.

Types of legal evidence include testimony, documentary evidence, and physical evidence.

How many types of evidence are there?

There are two types of evidence; namely, direct evidence and circumstantial evidence.

What kind of evidence is not admissible in court?

To be admissible in court, the evidence must be relevant (i.e., material and having probative value) and not outweighed by countervailing considerations (e.g., the evidence is unfairly prejudicial, confusing, a waste of time, privileged, or based on hearsay).

What are the two types of evidence?

The heart of the case is the presentation of evidence. There are two types of evidence — direct and circumstantial. Direct evidence usually is that which speaks for itself: eyewitness accounts, a confession, or a weapon.

What are the primary types of evidence?

There are four general types of evidence:

  • Real evidence (tangible things, such as a weapon)
  • Demonstrative (a model of what likely happened at a given time and place)
  • Documentary (a letter, blog post, or other document)
  • Testimonial (witness testimony)